Mulberry – Stylish British Handbags land in Canada

When I was living in London (UK) I worked in The City at Lloyd’s.  There wasn’t too much shopping in the vicinity – there was a French Connection, and Leadenhall Market had Reiss, Marks & Spencer and Oasis.   And then there was a big House of Fraser.  That’s where I usually spent my time.

HouseofFraserCity-001

 

I remember the store perfectly.  Main floor – beauty (I often hit the Bobbie Brown counter), second floor – shoes (my faves – Kurt Geiger and Carvela) and bags.  You had to head around past the bags to hit the escalator to go to the higher floors for the clothes.  In the corner were all these iconic English Mulberry bags which it seemed every chic girl in The City had on their shoulder.  I always said I would buy one, but I never had the stomache for the price (or the cash probably).

I just read in Flare that Mulberry will be making it’s way to Canada!  Unfortunately, so far it’s just Toronto but one day maybe the stars will align and they will be in both Montreal AND I’ll have the funds to blow on one of their bags.  Unfortunately, they are a bit office-y for my new freelance writer lifestyle (and, err… expensive) but there still are a few more suitable bags I can see myself with.  Top would be The Alexa (named after Alexa Chung), mine only for a cool $1,700…

mulberry-alexa-bag-profile

Leave a comment